Coordinated Transportation System

The DHS Coordinated Transportation System is administered by the Transportation Services Section within the Office of Facilities and Support Services. The system is designed to provide services to consumers of the division within the Department of Human Services (DHS) as well as consumers of the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities (DBHDD) and the Georgia Vocational Rehabilitation Agency (GVRA). Therefore, the system is a human service transportation system.

The state is divided into three Districts and 12 regions. Three Field Operations Coordinators (FOCs) oversee the Regional Transportation Offices. Each FOC is responsible for the oversight of four regional offices. The Regional Transportation Offices (RTO) are responsible for the daily programmatic administration of transportation in their geographical areas. The RTO is the focal point within each region and is responsible for transportation provider monitoring and compliance; funding management; fleet management, and transportation coordination efforts. 

The coordinated system operates through a series of purchase of service contracts within each region. Providers are a mix of governmental entities, for-profits, and private non-profits. In many regions, a lead provider is the prime contractor, such as a Regional Commission, which provides overall contract management in coordination with the RTO and subcontractors.

Each region has a Regional Transportation Coordinating Committee (RTCC). The purpose of the committee is to establish policies and procedures; identify transportation needs and available funding and conduct the annual contract evaluation process which approves contractor renewals on a year by year basis. The Committee is comprised of regional division, human service provider, and partner agency representation. All committee members have a vested interest in the system and are either provided services by the system or play an active role in the system.