Reminder: Georgia Disaster Food Assistance Still Available in 25 Counties

May 18, 2011

ATLANTA – The Georgia Department of Human Services (DHS) is reminding Georgians that the Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (D-SNAP) benefits are still available in the following counties: Bartow (zip codes 30145, 30171, 30123, 30103), Catoosa, Cherokee, Coweta, Dade, Floyd, Gordon (zip codes 30746 and 30733), Greene, Habersham, Harris, Heard, Lamar, Lumpkin, Meriwether, Monroe, Morgan, Newton, Pickens, Polk, Rabun, Spalding, Troup, Upson, Walker and White. Registration for the D-SNAP program will be available in these counties until Thursday, May 19 at 6 p.m.

To qualify for D-SNAP benefits, residents must apply in person or have an authorized representative apply for them. Applicants must have:

  • Disaster damage to their homes;
  • Loss of food;
  • Expenses related to protecting their homes; or
  • Lost income as a result of the disaster AND meet income and liquid asset (cash or money in the bank) eligibility.

Individuals/families must have been a resident of or worked in one of these 25 counties on April 27, 2011 to apply for assistance.

Individuals and families applying for the D-SNAP must submit some form of identification, such as a photo ID or documents that contain your name and/or address to verify identity and residence in the disaster-designated county. However, if a person does not have identifying documents due to storm damage, they can bring someone to verify their identity.

Individuals/families that qualify will receive a one-time benefit based on household size. After completing the application, qualified individuals and families will be issued an Electronic Benefit Transfer (EBT) card. Benefits can be accessed using the EBT card after they are posted to the account. Benefits will be available within four (4) days after the application is filed.

Individuals can call 1-866-371-8222 for additional information.

The D-SNAP program will continue to run in the following locations through Thursday May 19th. Hours of operation will be 8 a.m. until 6 p.m.

Bartow County
Clarence Brown Conference Center
5450 Hwy 20
Cartersville, GA 30120

Catoosa County
Catoosa Hall
7658 Nashville Street
Ringgold, GA 30736

Cherokee County DFCS
105 Lamar Haley Parkway
Canton, GA 30169

Coweta County DFCS
533 Highway 29 North
Newnan, GA 30263-4735

Dade County
Calvary Baptist Church
13056 N Main St
Trenton, GA 30752

Floyd County
302 West 3rd St
Rome, GA 30161

Gordon County
Gordon County DFCS
619 Mauldin Road
Calhoun, GA 30701

Greene County DFCS
1951 S. Main Street
Greensboro, GA 30642

Habersham County DFCS
1045 Hollywood Highway
Clarkesville, GA 30523-0160

Harris County DFCS
134 North College Street
Hamilton, GA 31811-0285

Heard County DFCS
1188 Franklin Parkway
Franklin, GA 30217

Lamar County DFCS
122 Westgate Plaza
Barnesville, GA 30204-0970

Lumpkin County DFCS
175 Tipton Drive
Dahlonega, GA 30533

Meriwether County
Calloway Community Center at Kersey Park
121 Perry Street
Manchester, Georgia 31816

Monroe County DFCS
107 Martin Luther King Dr
Forsyth, Ga 31029

Morgan County
Morgan County DFCS
2005 Main St, Suite 89
Madison, GA 30650

Newton County DFCS
4117 Mill Street
Covington, GA 30014

Pickens County DFCS
255 Chambers Street
Jasper, Ga 30143

Polk County
Polk County DFCS
100 County Loop Rd
Cedartown, GA 30125

Rabun County
Rabun County DFCS
128 Hiawassee St
Clayton, GA 30525

Spalding County DFCS
411 East Solomon Street
Griffin, GA 30223-0039

Troup County DFCS
1220 Hogansville Road
LaGrange, GA 30241-4631

Upson County DFCS
711 North Bethel Street
Thomaston, GA 30286-3103

Walker County
Walker County Ag Center
10058 North Highway 27
Rock Spring, GA 30739M

White County DFCS
1241 Helen Highway, Suite 200
Cleveland, GA 30528-6938

Contact Information: 
Ravae Graham 404-657-1384

Share This