ATLANTA  Department of Human Services Division of Aging Services announces that three of Georgia’s Area Agencies on Aging (AAAs) recently received awards from the National Association of Area Agencies on Aging (n4a), the highest honor presented by n4a to member agencies. The Atlanta Regional Commission, the Middle Georgia Area Agency on Aging and the Three Rivers Area Agency on Aging were among 36 local aging programs to receive honors during the n4a annual conference.

The awards program is supported by iN2L, provider of the leading engagement and social connection platform for seniors, offering a foundation for activities that facilitate social interaction, cognitive and physical exercise, education, reminiscing, areas of interest and memory support engagement.

The Atlanta Regional Commission was awarded an n4a Aging Innovations Award for Healthy Aging for its Diabetes Health Coaching Program. The Three Rivers AAA was awarded an n4a Aging Innovations Award for Nutrition for its work as a Senior Hunger Coalition. Three Rivers AAA also won an n4a Achievement Award for Caregiving due to its work to make the most rural county in its region dementia friendly. The Middle Georgia AAA’s Lead Case Worker, Benae Hogan, was awarded the Mom’s Meals Community Champion Award.

The 2021 n4a Aging Innovations and Achievement Awards recognize AAAs that develop and implement cutting-edge approaches to support older adults, people with disabilities and their family caregivers. Among the selection criteria was the ease with which other agencies could replicate the program in their communities.

“We are so honored that our state Area Agencies on Aging were recognized for the tremendous work they are doing,” said Abby Cox, assistant deputy commissioner for Aging Services. “The programs and initiatives the AAAs are implementing show why Georgia is a pioneering state in providing quality care and resources to our aging and disability community.”

“n4a is proud to recognize the innovative, successful and replicable programs and initiatives of our members through the Aging Innovations and Achievement Awards,” said Sandy Markwood, chief executive officer of n4a. “We salute the winning AAAs who have enhanced the value of this awards program by sharing their initiatives with their peers in the Aging Network. Our members work tirelessly, with little fanfare, in their communities, and this program enables us to shine a well-deserved spotlight on their critical work to support older adults, people with disabilities and caregivers.”

The 2021 n4a Aging Achievement Awards honored traditional and new strategies in a range of categories, including Advocacy, Agency Operations, Caregiving, Elder Abuse Prevention, Healthy Aging, Home and Community-Based Services, Intergenerational Programs, Nutrition, Technology, and Transportation and Mobility.

All winners are showcased in the n4a 2021 AIA awards book.

About the DHS Division of Aging Services

The Division of Aging Services is the division within the Department of Human Services charged with assisting and protecting Georgia’s older individuals, at-risk adults, persons with disabilities, their families and caregivers to achieve safe, healthy, independent and self-reliant lives.

About n4a

The National Association of Area Agencies on Aging (n4a) is a 501(c)(3) membership association representing America’s national network of 622 Area Agencies on Aging (AAAs) and providing a voice in the nation’s capital for the more than 260 Title VI Native American aging programs. n4a’s primary mission is to build the capacity of our members so they can help older adults and people with disabilities live with dignity and choices in their homes and communities for as long as possible. (


Contact Assistant Deputy Commissioner, External Affairs

Tahni Segars


2 Peachtree Street, NW.
Suite 29.401
Atlanta, GA 30303-3142