GCDHH Members


J. Comer Yates

J. Comer Yates

J. Comer Yates currently serves as the Chairperson of the Commission.  He is the Executive Director of the Atlanta Speech School.  Various awards include both the Distinguished Service Award and the President’s Award from the Atlanta Bar Association and the WXIA Community Service Award.  He serves on the board of directors for the following organizations: Carl E. Sanders Family YMCA, Camp Twin Lakes, Odyssey, and the Anti-Defamation League.  Mr. Yates received both his B.A. and J.D. from Emory University.
Email: cyates@atlantaspeechschool.org

Vice Chairperson:


Dr. Jiovanne Hughart, AuD

Dr. Jiovanne Hughart is a private practice audiologist in the Atlanta area. She is an adjunct professor at Auburn University and adjunct instructor at Salus University, teaching private practice audiology and cerumen management. She travels nationally and internationally conducting cerumen management workshops, specifically the lab portion of the workshop. She currently serves as chairperson for the Academy Doctors of Audiology mentoring committee and as webmaster for the Georgia Academy of Audiology.


Current Commissioner Position Appointee
Jimmy Peterson DHH Adult - ASL Governor
Jennifer Clark DHH Adult - English Governor
Ellen Rolader DHH Adult - English and ASL Governor
Dana Tarter Deaf-Blind Adult Governor
Jim Lynch Late deafened (after 18 years) Governor
Kelly Jenkins Parent of DHH Child - English Governor
Deshonda Washington Parent of DHH Child - ASL Governor
Dr. Jiovanne Hughart Otolaryngologist or Audiologist Governor
Comer Yates* Private Provider of Services for DHH Governor
Dr. Amy Lederberg Person involved w/Programs for DHH Governor
Dr. Chip Goldsmith At Large Senate Committee on Assignments
Dr. Beth Lytle At Large Speaker of the House
  *Current Chairperson GCDHH votes