COVID-19 Prevention Efforts
Effective March 23 at 8 a.m., DHS customers should use self-service options as primary means to conduct business with DHS. In-person services will be provided by appointment only. For more information, click here.
Runaway and Homeless Youth Programs (RHYP)
Effective July 1, 2011, RCCL began registering Runaway and Homeless Youth Programs (RHYP) in accordance with Georgia law.
The Runaway Youth Safety Act, passed by the Georgia General Assembly in 2011 as Senate Bill 94, creates a limited exception to criminal liability for service providers that serve children under the age of 18 who have run away and/or are homeless. All service providers must notify a child’s parent, guardian, or legal custodian of the child’s location and general state of well-being as soon as possible, but no later than 72 hours after the child’s acceptance of services. If a provider suspects child abuse or neglect, the provider must submit an abuse report to the Division of Family and Children Services (DFCS). Should a child not reveal the parent, guardian, or legal custodian or if the aforementioned responsible parties cannot be reached, providers must contact DFCS within 72 hours of the child’s acceptance of services. See O.C.G.A. § 16-5-45.
An organization that serves children who have run away or children who are homeless.
Eligibility for Registration
Organizations that are currently licensed by RCCL or have a 501(c)(3) tax exempt status as defined by the U.S. Internal Revenue Service are eligible to apply for registration as a Runaway Homeless Youth Program.
Legal Authority: O.C.G.A. §§ 49-5-160–164.
The following link will take you to the Code of Georgia-Free Public Access website Official Georgia Code Annotated
Annual Registration: $25.00
The following application letter, checklist and forms are in Adobe Acrobat format and must be printed out and completed by hand.